Summer 2018 Citigroup Summer Sophomore Leadership Program

Hey guys, I just got an e-mail from Citigroup replying to my submitted application for the Sophomore Summer Leadership Program. It is just asking "to preference your business line of interest." I'm assuming the fact that I got an e-mail back is a good thing. Did a lot of people get this, or is this a part of the interview process for Citi to breakdown people and see who they want for next summer? Does anyone have any advice on this process? This is my first time really dealing with something like this.

Citi Summer Internship for Sophomores Group Preference

During the application process for the Citi sophomore leadership program, candidates must submit their group preferences. According to our users, it seems that this step is the next step past the resume screen. However, you are not guaranteed an interview because you receive an email.

cgained:
I believe that the email is a "second-step" past a resume screening. I have a couple friends who applied as well and they didn't get emails.

kcwelch5184:
From what I heard everyone who made it through basic resume screening receives the email.

You can learn more about the Citi internship program with the below video.

Read more about this topic on another thread on WSO. This thread reviews the program in whole.

Read more about Citigroup on the WSO Company Database.

Preparing for Investment Banking Interviews?

The WSO investment banking interview course is designed by countless professionals with real world experience, tailored to people aspiring to break into the industry. This guide will help you learn how to answer these questions and many, many more.

Investment Banking Interview Course Here

I believe that the email is a "second-step" past a resume screening. I have a couple friends who applied as well and they didn't get emails.