How do I network for IB/PE summer 2026 internships as a rising sophomore?

Searched WSO and am still confused. For context I'm a rising sophomore at Stanford (only specified because idk if Stanford being almost entirely focused on tech should change my approach to networking/interviews in general).

I just want to know:

1) When should I start networking for both IB and PE (I read about on-cycle but I'm not sure if this applies to me)?

2) Is networking literally just emailing and setting up a call to learn more about the person and their experience/position?

3) What should I expect in these informational calls (what will we talk about)?

4) Should I be emailing only analysts, or should I target some management and interns? Also do I email the recruiter?

5) How do referrals work? How do I know if I've been given one?

6) Do these networking calls lead to an interview for big firms or do I still apply though a formal online portal and application process?

Sorry if there are really simple questions that are answered elsewhere on the sub, but I'm coming from a pretty non-finance background so any support would be greatly greatly appreciated. I will also be/have been reaching out to upperclassmen for support. Thank you!

1. Begin networking for IB in December of your sophomore year. Applications will begin to open up Dec and Jan and interviews will likely come out around Feb-April. Don't worry about stuff you are seeing for PE recruitment, that is for after graduation.

2. Essentially yes, you want to ask them any questions about them, the firm, and anything you think would make a good conversation. You want to build a network and stay in touch with people you have good conversations with. Primarily aim to reach out to analysts as building these relationships are the most important (they are likely the ones who will give you referrals for interviews).